Courses: Iowa LTC Certification

Iowa Long-Term Care Certification Catalog

Training Requirements

Initial Certification Requirement:

Initial 8-hour NAIC long term care training course that has been approved as CE.

Resident Producers:
Iowa requires resident producers to take an Iowa specific 8-hour NAIC long term care course which has been approved as CE.
Non-Resident Producers:
Iowa has adopted training reciprocity for non-resident producers only. This means that non-resident producers may take an Iowa 8-hour NAIC long term care course OR they may take an 8-hour NAIC long term care course from another state.
Refresher Certification Training:
Iowa requires a 4-hour NAIC LTC training CE course every 36 month CE term thereafter.

What do the Version A and Version B mean? LTC renewal training must be completed every 2 years. Most states will not allow the same CE course to be repeated during a single compliance period or the subsequent compliance period. We strongly advise that you alternate between the online versions in order to ensure you can earn CE credit towards your license renewal. If your last course was completed in the classroom or you have never taken a course with us before, choose Version A. If you are still unsure about which course to take, check your history under "My Courses" or contact customer support.

New Annuity Training Requirement - $12.95

Annuity "Best Interest" Required Training

Now Available! Take your annuity training online through our partner at InsuranceStudy for just $12.95.
Annuity Best Interest courses are ClearCert approved. InsuranceStudy utilizes the same learning platform that you already know and love through LTC Connection. All training can be completed online. You have unlimited exam attempts. Courses are processed by the next business day.


If you sell, solicit or negotiate annuity products, you must complete either a

  • 1 hour course for previously certified agents
    (there is limited time to complete this catch-up training and avoid the 4 hour)

  • 4 hour course for new agent certification